‘Lost’ Creedence Clearwater Revival 1970 Royal Albert Hall Show Comes Out for the First Time: Exclusive – NBCNEWS

  • Whatsapp
Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall

On April 14, 1970, Creedence Clearwater Revival – fresh off three Top 10 albums in less than a year – took the stage of London’s Royal Albert Hall for the first of two shows.

Read More

Now, more than 52 years later, that September 16 concert by the respected rock band will be released for the first time in its entirety on Concord’s Craft Recordings.

To discover

To discover

Watch the latest videos, charts and news

Watch the latest videos, charts and news

The release serves as the audio companion to the Jeff Bridges narrated documentary, Travelin’ Band: Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall, which will be released on the same day. Directed by Bob Smeaton, the film follows the band from their roots in El Cerrito, California in the mid to late 1960s through the Royal Albert Hall show. The documentary was previously announced, but the accompanying album was not.

Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall features the classic CCR lineup of John Fogerty, Tom Fogerty, Doug Clifford and Stu Cook. The following year, Tom Fogerty had left the band and in 1972 the group broke up. The full 12-track performance now includes classics like “Fortunate Son,” “Proud Mary” and “Bad Moon Rising,” which premiere below.

Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall will be available on 180 gram vinyl, CD and cassette tape, while Walmart will offer a gray “Tombstone Shadow” vinyl and Target a “Green River” vinyl. In addition, the album will be available on digital platforms, including in Hi-Res and Dolby ATMOS immersive audio formats. Preorders are now open.

At the heart of the release are producer Giles Martin and engineer Sam Okell, who previously collaborated on the Beatles’ 50th anniversary editions. Abbey Road and Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, among other projects restored and remixed the music from the original multi-track tapes. Engineer Miles Showell mastered the set at Abbey Road Studios.

Rumors of the recording had been around for decades – and according to CCR lore – Fantasy Records released a supposedly live album of the Royal Albert Hall concert in 1980, but it was soon discovered that the released recording was actually from a show. from 1970 in Oakland, California. Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum Arena and the master tape were mislabeled. The album was simply reissued as: The concert.

Two months after the initial releases, Craft will release a Super Deluxe Edition Box Set, a 2-LP/2-CD/1-Blu-ray collection, featuring the concert on 180 gram vinyl and CD, as well as a second CD with additional music from the movie. The Blu-Ray offers the full movie and album in high resolution and Dolby Atmos. The set, which includes other extras, is limited to 5,000 copies worldwide.

Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall (CD) track list
1. Born on the Bayou
2. Green River
3. Tombstone Shadow
4. Travelin’ Band
5. Happy Son
6. Commotion
7. Midnight Special
8. Evil Moon Rising
9. Proud Mary
10. The night is the right time
11. Good Golly Miss Molly
12. Stay Chooglin’

Related posts

Leave a Reply